Who We Are - Presentation of the Partners

The Life RECYCLO project is led by TreeWater and 5 partners:

  • Blanchisserie Saint-Jean, Bagard, France: Laundry and beneficiary of the RECYCLO process
  • Fundacio Max Xirgu (GRUPFRN), Girona, Spain: Laundry and beneficiary of the RECYCLO process
  • KLIN SARL, Foetz, Luxembourg: Laundry and beneficiary of the RECYCLO process
  • Université de Lyon – Pop’Sciences: Around Pop’Sciences, the Université de Lyon, an academic site of excellence, promotes the meeting between research and society. It is in charge of communicating and promoting the Life RECYLO project.
  • Catalan Institute for Water Research (ICRA): Institute in analytical science in charge of the innovative analysis method development for hazardous substances


Water reuse

In Europe, water reuse is already a reality in the Mediterranean countries. Nearly 964 million m3 of wastewater per year are reused in the EU, including 350 and 230 million m3 in Spain and Italy. In comparison, the volume reused in Germany and France is only 42 and 7 million m3 per year. About 20% of the reused volume in Europe is used for industrial production (Interreg Europe 2021).

Numerous studies show that the water reuse market will be boosted by the availability of water resources in Europe and their price. Indeed, it is estimated that water shortages will increase in Europe by more than 50% by 2030 (European Commission, 2021).

Therefore, there needs to be a treatment technology ready to meet reuse challenges.

Water in industrial laundries

In Europe, there are about 11,000 laundries that clean about 2.7 billion kg of textiles per year. This sector is a big water consumer. In 2008, the water consumption of laundries is estimated at 21L/kg of dry textile washed, or 42 million m3 per year (Hloch et al. 2012), and therefore, as much wastewater is produced. This wastewater usually ends up in public sewage. systems.


Laundries: emission source of
priority substances

The wastewater produced during the washing process is polluted by various pollutants of emerging concerns.

• detergents (especially nonylphenols) added during the washing process

• products extracted from the textiles such as flame retardants (PBDE), waterproofing agents (PFOS), hydrocarbons, waterproofing agents (Phthalates - DEHP), heavy metals

Most of these pollutants have been identified as priority substances to be eliminated from water because they represent real toxicity effects (Directive 2013/39/EU).


Anthracène

Phtalates

Nonylphénols

Significant risk to humans and their environment

Even at low concentrations pollutants of emerging concern directly impact the aquatic environment at various levels. They also affect living organisms and human health. Many of these substances are endocrine disruptors, bio-accumulative in living species, carcinogenic, and mutagenic.

Eliminating these substances before they are released protects our environment and health.

The price of water

In Europe, the price of water is from 1.4 to 7.0 €/m3 (Oieau, 2017). It is largely dependent on the availability of water resources and the quality of pumped water. This price is a major concern for the laundries sector, which is looking for an efficient solution to reduce its water bills.

At the same time, the laundry market is expected to grow at a rate of 2.3% per year (CAGR 2023), thus increasing the sector's water consumption.

Twitter LinkedIn

Qu'est ce le projet Life RECYCLO ?

Qui sommes nous - Présentation des partenaires

Le projet Life RECYCLO est porté par la société TreeWater et compte 5 partenaires :

  • Blanchisserie Saint-Jean, Bagard, France : Blanchisserie partenaire et bénéficiaire du procédé RECYCLO
  • Fundacio Max Xirgu (GRUPFRN), Gérone, Espagne : Blanchisserie partenaire et bénéficiaire du procédé RECYCLO
  • KLIN SARL, Foetz, Luxembourg : Blanchisserie partenaire et bénéficiaire du procédé RECYCLO
  • Université de Lyon – Pop’Sciences : Autour de Pop’Sciences, l’Université de Lyon, site académique d’excellence, favorise la rencontre entre la recherche et la société. Elle est en charge de communiquer et de promouvoir le projet Life RECYLO.
  • Catalan Institute for Water Research (ICRA) : Institut en sciences analytiques en charge de développer des méthodes innovantes d’analyse des substances dangereuses : https://www.icra.cat


La réutilisation des eaux

En Europe, le recyclage des eaux usées est déjà une réalité dans les pays méditerranéens. Près de 964 millions de m3 par an d’eaux usées sont réutilisées en Europe dont 350 et 230 millions de m3, respectivement en Espagne et en Italie. Comparativement, le volume réemployé en Allemagne et en France est seulement de 42 et 7 millions de m3 par an. De manière générale, environ 20 % du volume réutilisé est destiné à la production industrielle. (Interreg Europe, 2021)

De nombreuses études montrent que le marché européen de la réutilisation des eaux sera boosté par la rareté de la ressource et l’augmentation de son prix. En effet, on estime que les pénuries d’eau devraient augmenter en Europe de plus de 50 % d’ici 2030 (Commission européenne, 2021).

Il est donc primordial de proposer des technologies de traitement capables de répondre à ces enjeux.

L’eau dans les blanchisseries industrielles

En Europe on dénombre environ 11 000 blanchisseries qui nettoient près de 2,7 milliards de kg de textile par an. Ce secteur est un gros consommateur d’eau. En 2008, la consommation d’eau des blanchisseries est estimée à 21 L/kg de textile sec lavé, soit 42 millions de m3 par an (Hloch et al., 2012) et donc autant d’eaux usées produites. Ces eaux usées finissent le plus généralement dans les réseaux d’assainissement publics, non adaptés au traitement de polluants émergents.


Les blanchisseries, une source d’émission de micropolluants prioritaires

Les eaux usées produites pendant le processus de lavages des blanchisseries sont polluées par de nombreux micropolluants:

• des détergents (notamment Nonylphénols) ajoutés lors du lavage,

• des produits extraits du linge tel que les ignifugeants (PBDE), les imperméabilisants (PFOS), les hydrocarbures, les plastifiants (Phtalates - DEHP), les métaux lourds.

La plupart de ces polluants ont été identifiés comme substances prioritaires à éliminer des eaux car ils représentent de réels risques de toxicité (carcinogénicité, perturbation hormonale, génotoxicité...)


Anthracène

Phtalates

Nonylphénols

Un risque significatif pour l’homme et son environnement

Même à faible concentration, les micropolluants impactent directement l’environnement aquatique. Ils affectent le vivant et la santé humaine. Plusieurs de ces substances sont des perturbateurs endocriniens, bioaccumulables dans les espèces vivantes, cancérogènes et mutagènes.

Eliminer ces substances avant leur rejet, c’est protéger notre environnement et notre santé.

Le prix de l’eau

En Europe, le prix de l’eau varie de 1,4 à 7 €/m3 (Oieau, 2017). Il est largement dépendant de la disponibilité de la ressource et de la qualité des eaux pompées. Ce prix est une des préoccupations majeures des blanchisseries, qui cherchent une solution efficace pour réduire leurs factures d’eau.

Parallèlement, le marché des blanchisseries devrait connaître une croissance de 2,3 % par an (CAGR, 2023) s’accompagnant ainsi d’une augmentation de la consommation en eau du secteur.

Twitter LinkedIn